Our History

Our History – The Wentworthville Magpies

About the Club

The original Rugby League Club that represented the Wentworthville District had its origins in 1912/13, known as the Wentworthville Rovers; making it one of the oldest clubs in Australia, given Rugby League was first played in 1908. The team colours were Red and White.

The start of World War 1 saw football put on hold for four years recommencing in 1919. Changes occurred in 1923 and the name changed to Wentworthville Rugby League Football Club and the jersey color changed to black. The club was successful with a hat-trick of “A’ titles in the later part of the 1920’s.

The Club continued, with little success, in the 1930’s and a new name was introduced with the Club being registered as the Wentworthville United Rugby League Football Club, adopting the now familiar black and white strip.

In 1947, Parramatta District Rugby League Club attained first Division status and severed ties with the Western Districts Rugby League Football Club. Our famous magpie was adopted about this time as the emblem on the club jumpers.

In 1963 the Club participated in the Inter-District competition under the control of the NSWRL, and in 1964 the NSWRL introduced a 2nd Division to complement the existing 1st Grade Competition; and the Wentworthville District Rugby League Football Club was formed. Wentworthville were the benchmark for all other clubs with our first grade playing in 10 successive Grand Finals and winning nine. 

The Wentworthville United Rugby League Club was retained to compete under the auspices of the Parramatta District Rugby League Football Club which it still does to this day.

In the 70’s Wenty had a three-year stint in the Illawarra Competition appearing in five Grand Finals and winning two Premierships but were rejected from this competition in 1978. After the rejection, the District Club and Wentworthville United merged and the Wentworthville Rugby League Club was formed.

In the early nineties the Parramatta District A grade competition could not sustain a reasonable competition due to the strength of Wentworthville, Mounties, Guildford and Hills District and so the Metropolitan Cup was formed by the NSWRL. Wentworthville competed successfully from the initial year, winning one premiership and making the final series almost every year. 

Our Teams

Ron Massey Cup

Over the past decade, this competition has been known as the Jim Beam Cup, Bundaberg Red Cup and Ron Massey Cup, as it is known today. In 2009 the Club was successful in winning the initial Bundy Red Cup and has since gone on to win an incredible seven premierships in eleven years – 2009, 2010, 2012, 2013, 2017, 2018 and 2019.


Harvey Norman Women’s Premiership

In recognition and response to the growth of women’s rugby league, Wentworthville fielded our inaugural open-aged women’s rugby league team in NSWRL’s Harvey Norman Women’s Premiership in 2018. Season 2019 saw our HNW side qualify for the Finals series for the first time – a great achievement in just our second year of participation. The club are extremely proud to be involved in this competition and are committed to providing an equivalent development pathway for our female participants, as we have done for our male players, coaches and officials.


NSW / Canterbury Cup (formerly Intrust Super Premiership)

Ahead of the 2008 season, a joint-venture agreement was reached between Wentworthville and the Parramatta Eels NRL club that the Premier League side be taken over and play as Wentworthville, in a newly formed competition to be known as the NSW Cup – now known as the Canterbury Cup NSW. In keeping with our club’s great tradition, the team was successful in winning the Competition in its first year. Wenty went on to qualify for the Grand Final again in 2019 before being beaten in extra-time by the Newtown Jets, bringing our joint-venture to an end after 12 seasons. Wenty have continued our relationship with the Parramatta Eels since 2020, through a feeder-club arrangement.


Rugby League greats to have played for the Wenty Magpies

Australia representatives – Don Parish, Jack Troy, Arthur Clues, Keith Campbell, Graham Olling, Mark Carroll, Carl Webb, Reni Maitua, Eric Grothe Jnr, Paul Gallen, Michael Jennings, Semi Radradra & Tim Mannah

New Zealand representatives – Nathan Cayless, Dean Halitau, Fui Fui Moi Moi & Paul Whatuira

NSW – Charlie Wrench

Terry Hughes (Inaugural Rothmans Medal winner)

Phil Gould (First grade player – premiership winning coach, State of Origin coach)

Lewis Jones (dual English International union/rugby league)